Pull a Rabbit out of my hat

8X10 pastel on paper

8X10
pastel on paper

Ever find yourself needing a gift for that special occasion and not have the funds or the time to shop properly. That’s where I was when I painted this lighthouse. My sister was getting married that day and I hadn’t had the chance to purchase a gift before making the trip. I did however have my pastels with me and My sisters faience was a collector of anything lighthouse related. So I asked Mom if she had any light house pictures I could use for a reference. Not to copy but just to give me an idea of how I wanted to lay out the painting. She said no I don’t have one. So we looked for an old calendar and there was my reference. We sat together talking about of old times while the painting developed. I did not have to go to the wedding empty handed. Instead able to give a little bit of myself with pride.

About Dodie Mccandless

I am an artist through to my heart. Nature inspires me to paint. I have only been blogging my art for a short while but look forward to making this a life long experience. I graduated from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 1980 with an Associates degree, and also received a Digital Art Diploma from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 2004. I enjoy many forms of art. Oils, Acrylic, Watercolor, Pastels and Digital art. I look forward to hearing from you as an art collector or fellow artist. Until then, Love Art and Live!
Image | This entry was posted in pastels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

