Not a painting in a day

9 X 12 Oil on board $50 email for details

9 X 12
Oil on board
$50
email for details

I first started this painting by setting the cantaloupe beside my beautiful tulips, freshly picked from my garden. Proud that something I planted actually grew and wanting to paint the way the light hit both so beautifully. But as always in those days time got the best of me, with three children under the age of ten, and did I mention that digital photography had not been invented yet. No time to sit and paint from life, and had to wait sometimes weeks to get the picture printed. I finally got around to painting about a year after taking the photo. At the time with so many other things taking priority I was not so confident in my oil painting skills. So I started, but didn’t finish. As a matter of fact didn’t get back to it till another year later. When the urge to paint hit me I finally picked up the sadly discarded painting and went to town. Just feeling the paints do their magic I was surprised to see everything come together in less than an hour. All that time I had avoided the sad little painting fearing I couldn’t do it. Only to finish in a flurry. Moral here is don’t let doubt control your painting ability. Walk away if you have to but you can create beauty if you only believe.
Until tomorrow,
Love Art and Live

About Dodie Mccandless

I am an artist through to my heart. Nature inspires me to paint. I have only been blogging my art for a short while but look forward to making this a life long experience. I graduated from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 1980 with an Associates degree, and also received a Digital Art Diploma from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 2004. I enjoy many forms of art. Oils, Acrylic, Watercolor, Pastels and Digital art. I look forward to hearing from you as an art collector or fellow artist. Until then, Love Art and Live!
This entry was posted in Still Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a painting in a day

  1. Sally says:

    This is one of my favorites from you and love it more every time I see it. Your words come from your heart. You really are an inspiration to the artist in all of us.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely piece and your heart today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

